Chess Pie

Chess Piechess

I had one of these a few years back at a church dinner and I what is this little slice of heaven that I’m eating. A simple combination of eggs, sugar, and butter, with the tiniest bit of flour or cornmeal for thickening, chess pies appeared in print as early as the late 19th century and are made in plain, chocolate, lemon and coconut flavors I keep telling myself I am going venture out and try to make an orange or cherry version. If I do I will update this. This pie is perfect for those of you who love a simple pie, but don’t like the “gluey” texture (or mile-high meringue) of some classic pies. This humble pie recipe makes two pies that don’t have to hide beneath meringue.

Ingredients:pot2

1 1/2 sticks of butter, softened

3 Cups of Sugar

6 Eggs

1 1/2 TSP Vanilla

2 TBSP Cornmeal

2 9inch pie shells

Directions:

Cream butter and sugar. Add Eggs one at a time, beating after each egg. Add Vanilla and Cornmeal. pour 1/2 into each unbaked pie crust. Bake one hour at 350.

Leave a Reply

