Strawberry Refrigerator Cake

strawberry-refrig-cakeStrawberry Refrigerator Cake

This is one of my favorite cakes because it tastes great and is easy to make. It can also be made as a reduced sugar dessert for diabetics or those on a diet. You just substitute sugar-free jello, and buy unsweetened strawberries, use splenda or stevia, use fat free cool whip and low calorie butter.

Ingredients:

2 commercial angel food cakes.(not mixes)
2 packages strawberry jello
2 10 oz packages frozen strawberries
1 8 oz tub Cool Whip (or one package Dream Whip, prepared as directed)
1tbls cornstarch
1 tlbs butter

Directions:

Dissolve 2 packages of strawberry jello in one cup of boiling water. Drain 1 cup of juice for the strawberries and reserve. Add 1/2 berries and remaining juice to jello mixture. Refrigerate jello mixture until it begins to thicken. Break cakes into walnut-size chunks and fold cake pieces and Cool Whip into jello mixture. Place in large, well-buttered angel food cake pan. I do not have one of these so I use a 9×13 pan or a bundt pan. Refrigerate until set.

Unmold cake onto large platter. Mix 1 tbls cornstarch with 1 cup of strawberry juice. Cook until mixture boils and thickens. Add butter. When cool, top cake with strawberries and pour juice mix over unmolded cake.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Harlon says:

    I love this recipe and with the holiday season coming up with it’s fair share of pot lucks, this is going to be my contribution. Thank you for making me the hit of the party 🙂 Harlon

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I made one last night for a potluck today and my husband keep begging for a piece. He can’t wait for lunch.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Harlon says:

    Hello, I am not too sure if you’ll get this message in time but I am a little confused about the instructions.

    Dissolve 2 packages of strawberry jello in one cup of boiling water. Drain 1 cup of juice for the strawberries and reserve. Add 1/2 berries and remaining juice to jello mixture.

    When you say drain one cup of juice – I am not too sure where I am draining that 1 cut from. You see I was going to use fresh strawberries so there would be no frozen juice. or should I only use frozen strawberries – but was not aware that would yield one cup of juice. Or should the first line be dissolve 2 packages of strawberry jello into two cups of boiling water (rather than one) and I take the 1 cup of juice from the jello mix. And then proceed. I am not too sure if the question makes sense or not – I guess I am thrown off by the drain 1 cup of juice part – just need clarification on what the “juice” is.

    Sorry for the last minute plea for help but I was hoping to make this on the 24th and bring it to the family dinner on the 25th. You can clarify in a response to this or email me directly at harlon.davey@gmail.com

    Thanks – it’s not Christmas if there isn’t one stressful moment, sorry if I caused you one too 🙂

    Like

  3. I drain it from the strawberries that collects as they thaw. You could probably mashup a couple for fresh strawberries in about 1 cup

    Like

    1. Of water and get the same effect. Sorry i cut in two messages I’m in the car and hit a bump

      Like

  4. Harlon says:

    Thank you, that makes sense, the frozen strawberries I usually buy are, I guess “flash frozen” or whatever it’s called, so the usually don’t leave much juice, but I remember the ones in tins that did. Problem soled. You are a Goddess-send. Have a great Christmas! Harlon

    Like

Leave a Reply

