FRENCH CHERRY TORTE

cherry-torteFRENCH CHERRY TORTE

My grandma used to make this for church potlucks and Sunday School class parties. Memaw always used pecans in the crust. I usually use a graham cracker crust because my husband doesn’t like the pecan crust (as Mom said, “There’s no accounting for taste.”) He also doesn’t like cherry pie filling, so I often use strawberry (usually homemade-there’s just something weird about the consistency of canned strawberry pie filling!). Blueberry is also pretty good. Really, you can’t go wrong I have never tried peach, but now that i am writing this I’m thinking Peach would be awesome. Thank goodness there is a potluck after church on Sunday. I going to whip one of these bad boys up with PEACHES! Oh Yeah! I will tell you how it goes.

Ingredients:

Crust:
2 cps Flour
1/2 cp Brown Sugar
1 cp finely chopped pecans or graham crackers
1 cp Butter

Filling:
1 8oz pkg Cream Cheese
1 cp Powdered Sugar
1 tsp Vanilla
2 pkgs. Dream Whip or a tub of cool whip
1 1/2 cp. (1 can) Cherry Pie Filling

Directions:

Mix like pie crust. Spread in 9×13 pan. Bake 15 min at 400 degrees. When cool, crumble into fine pieces and press firmly on bottom of pan.

Mix cream cheese, powdered sugar, and vanilla together. Beat Dream Whip as directed on package, then add cheese mixture. Pour onto crust and top with pie filling. Chill 12 hours.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Daal says:

    am so glad you visited my blog – because now I’ve found yours! such a lovely spirit here – am not religious & am pescatarian, yet am utterly charmed by your obvious sweetness (more than in dessert sense) by your closing ‘about me’ sentence – that you’ll refer to them as ‘my boys’ 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much. You are too sweet.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. viktoryarch says:

    So Christmasy! Happy Holidays.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Cathy says:

    My mama used to make this. She doubled everything and made it in a 9×13 pan. Everyone RAVED about it. She has been in the arms of Jesus since last May, but never shared the recipe before changing her address. Thank you so much for posting this!! I am weeping in anticipation of tasting this again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

