Crunchy Romaine Toss

ramenCrunchy Romaine Toss

My son, Smalls, has Autism and many autistics get into food ruts where they only like one food for a long time. Smalls did this with Ramen noodles. He still wants it two times a day, but it is not as bad as it once was. So I tried to find recipes to incorporate the noodles in different ways in hopes that he would at least try the food. This is one of those recipes.

Ingredients:

 

1 cup chopped walnuts

1 package Ramen noodles, uncooked and broken up. (Throw away the flavor packet)

4 tablespoons butter

Lightly brown in a skillet the above and cool on paper towels. Make a salad out of the following and add the above prior to serving.

1 bunch fresh chopped broccoli (using very little of the stems)

4 green onions, chopped

1 head romaine lettuce

Sweet and Sour Dressing:asfor

1 cup vegetable oil

1 cup sugar

1/2 cup wine vinegar

3 tablespoons soy sauce

salt and pepper to taste

Shake well to mix oil in with the vinegar. This is way too much for one salad so use as desired. Pour on just prior to serving as it will get soggy

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Christina Nifong says:

    Thanks for following my blog! I wanted to invite you to take a look at my new blog: http://christinanifong.com If you like what you see, please sign up for my weekly email newsletter in the sign up box you’ll find here: http://christinanifong.com/category/blog/
    I have changed platforms and this is how I’m connecting with readers now. Thanks for taking a look!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. randyjw says:

    This reminds me of a delicious dish my mother used to make called Chinese Chicken Salad. It used the dried ramen noodles and sweet-and-sour dressing also. I’m not sure if we have the recipe anymore, so I’m glad I found yours.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

